I’m spending some quality time in Highland, Indiana this weekend, seeing family and getting to know the new computer, not to mention enjoying an afternoon at Bean Counters, the local coffee-next-to-an-accountant’s-office on Kennedy.  The hazy, always-threatening-to-rain weather complemented the unfortunate sight of the Town Theatre just north of downtown Highland, now (permanently?) closed.

It was a great old theatre – I believe I’ve only been once, to see “My Big Fat Greek Wedding” a few years ago.  “Preserved” isn’t quite the right word, but what sticks in my mind are the old-style marquee above the front doors, two life-size suits of armor flanking either side of the screen up on platforms, and enjoying a piece of cake in the lobby during intermission (and come to think of it, add “having an intermission” to that list).

The ripped-up road outside only added to the pathos, not to mention the fact that the poster from the last movie they’d shown – “Young at Heart” – was still in the frame outside.  I walked over to get a snapshot.

Town Theatre on Kennedy Ave. (Highland IN)

Town Theatre on Kennedy Ave. (Highland IN)

When I have more time this summer, I should take a leaf (post?) out of other urbanist photoblogs, drive down for the day, and do a photo study of northwest Indiana.

On the way I passed one of the old railroad corridors that Highland has turned into a bike trail.  Given that most of this area used to be a swamp, it’s not surprising to see a lot of standing water in the land’s lowest spots.

A pair of ducks by the bike trail (Highland, IN)

A pair of ducks by the bike trail (Highland, IN)

Still have that old song from “The Music Man” in my head.

“Gary Indiana, Gary Indiana, Gary Indiana, let me sing it once again… Gary Indiana, Gary Indiana, that’s the town that knew me when!”

